My first week as an intern

My name is Paola Fortes Fernández and I am one of the new writers for the CA ScratchUp blog. I was born and raised in Xalapa, Mexico, but my whole family is from Pontevedra, Spain, where I spend all my summers, so I consider myself Mexican/Spanish.

Cheshire Academy is the third boarding school that I’ve gone to and it is by far the best one. The relationships that I have made here, both with teachers and students, have changed my life. CA has the most accepting and respectful community that I’ve ever been a part of. I feel more at home here in CA than in my actual house. I wouldn’t want to be anywhere else! During my free time here at CA (which is probably like 10 minutes a day) I like to read, play guitar, skype with my friends from home, eat nutella or read articles online.

IMG_1468

My weekends here mostly consist of doing homework, binge watching Friends, Breaking Bad or How I Met Your Mother or hanging out with my CA family. I love eating. I come from a family of chefs (even though I can’t cook to save my life), so nothing makes me happier than a good plate of food.

My biggest passion is art. Art has the power to change the world, and that is what I hope to someday do with my artwork. I love watercolors, color pencils, charcoal, oil paint, printmaking and litography. Some of my favorite artists are René Magritte, Frida Kahlo, Gustav Klimt, Salvador Dalí, Albrecht Durer, among many others. I love going to museums. I would live in the MET if it was possible. One of the things I love the most about going to CA is having so many incredible art museums and galleries nearby, like the Yale Art Gallery, the art gallery in Wesleyan, the New Britain Museum of American Art, and everything in New York City and Boston.

Screen Shot 2015-03-25 at 16.37.23

My second biggest passion is global affairs. I love reading articles about world conflicts and discussing about them, which is one of the main reasons why I joined Model UN here at CA. My dream is to work in the United Nations to fight for women’s rights around the world and help countries, like my country Mexico, to develop through international help. If there is one thing that I wish I could do all the time it is traveling. I love learning about other cultures by immersing myself in them. I am very lucky to have parents who let me travel a lot. Some of the countries I have gone to are India, South Africa, Russia, the UK, Italy, Netherlands, Germany, etc. My dream is to travel around southeast Asia. I love elephants, asian food and learning about buddhism, so going to places like Thailand, New Guinea, Laos and Cambodia would be the perfect trip for me. Writing is another one of my passions, so I am very excited to be a part of CA ScratchUp.

20884_10200983213086306_2085116514_n